Eight Students Win Membership in UNESCO Chair for Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Physics

Engineer Dawoud Tarawa, member of the UNESCO Chair for Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Physics in Palestine, visited Birzeit University on May 17, 2014 to deliver membership cards to eight students who were awarded membership in the body.

Sameh Othman from the Faculty of Science, Tariq Talhami from the Faculty of Engineering, Amineh Hidmi and Phantina Sholi from the Faculty of Business and Economics, Mohammad Flayyan and Bayan Arafat from the Faculty of Arts, and Salah Abuhamdia from the Faculty of Law and Public Administration are the new members. These students have participated in all activities of the first Palestinian Camp on Astronomy held last month near Dar Salah village in Bethlehem.

About a month ago, Suleiman Baraka, UNESCO chair holder from Al-Aqsa University in Gaza, met with the students over videoconference and explained to them how to participate in training courses in astronomy in neighboring countries and in Europe.

The eight students will be the founding members of the Birzeit University Astronomy Club that is being formed under the supervision of professors Wafaa Khater, Wa’el Karain and Safi Safi from the physics department.