Birzeit University Student Council Elections 2012


The Martyr Yasser
Arafat Bloc won 26 seats out of 51 possible in the BZU Student Council
Elections 2012, held on 4 April 2012. The Islamic Wafaa' Bloc took 19 seats, while
the Student Progressive Democratic Bloc occupied 5 seats and the Palestine for
All Bloc won 1 seat. The rest of the blocs failed to take any seats.


The Acting Dean
of Student Affairs and Head of the Elections Preparatory Committee, Mohammed
al-Ahmad, announced that the Martyr Yasser Arafat Bloc obtained 2,732 votes and
the Islamic Wafaa' Bloc received 2,006 votes. He added that the percentage of
students who voted was 75.36%, with a record of 91 void ballots and 160
canceled ballots.




BZU President, Dr.
Khalil Hindi, applauded student cooperation and commitment, as the elections took
place in a democratic and quiet atmosphere, which reflected students’ sense of
responsibility. Dr. Hindi stressed that the efforts undertaken by the University
would not have been fruitful without the concerted efforts of students and all
parties involved.

The day before the elections, a student debate
was organized between the rival student blocs, where each bloc
presented its electoral program and goals in addition to answering questions
raised by the Deanship of Student Affairs.